MailPurge secures the in-box of your phone or tablet from spammers. Unsolicited junk mail is not only a time wasting nuisance, it also has the potential to install harmful malware to your device. This application is a highly effective spam blocker, protecting your inbox by stopping junkmail at the server level. Use MailPurge to delete unwanted spam from a pop3 server, prior to downloading your mail.
MailPurge can be used to manage from one to seven pop3 email accounts and will display a maximum of one hundred message headers after updating with a press of any account button. After selecting messages to be deleted, a second press of the same account button will delete those messages from the server. If auto re-login is enabled, the screen will then be refreshed with header info for any messages remaining. Auto re-login after deletion is the default setting, and can be enabled or disabled in Settings.
Should the user require access to less than seven accounts, there is the option of configuring MailPurge to access from one to six accounts only. By enabling any one of the six checkboxes from Use One Account Only to Use SIX Accounts Only in Settings, the now redundant account button(s) will be removed from view, as will the Reselect options in the case of Use One Account Only.
There is a checkbox in Settings, under the heading Check to Use SSL, that when enabled will configure MailPurge to access mail servers requiring a Secure Socket Layer (SSL) connection. An SSL connection is required for access to a Gmail account.
If MailPurge is to be used to manage a Gmail account, information about configuration Settings, for both MailPurge and Gmail, can be found within MailPurge, under Menu/About.
Information about the configuration Settings that are required for access to other pop3 mail accounts is available from your email service provider. In many instances, this information can be obtained by doing a Google search. Should a search of the Internet not be successful, contact your email service provider.
On first run, after EULA acceptance, the Settings screen will be displayed. If the user prefers to configure MailPurge at a later time, or have access to the Menu/About buttons, the Settings screen may be closed with a press of the Back (Return) button. A second press of this button will exit the application. The Settings screen will continue to be displayed on run, until such time as Account One is configured. After Settings have been configured, when changes are required, pressing Menu/Settings will open the Settings screen.
Details of operation can be viewed, from within MailPurge, under Menu/About. Before installing, please note that this is an English language application.
It has been noted with certain devices, that Predictive Text interferes with the entry of Settings info by inserting unwanted characters as the various text and password boxes are completed. This is particularly disruptive when asterisks mask password characters, and extra characters inserted are not noticed.
As a precaution ALWAYS TURN OFF PREDICTIVE TEXT temporarily, prior to entering Settings info.
Tags: appzoom mailpurge, mailpurge.
Update to Version 2.1:
The MENU button has been removed from the user interface. This improves use of screen space for smaller screen devices. For those devices not having hardware buttons, the MENU button can be found as a virtual button at the bottom of the screen. It appears as three horizontal lines stacked vertically.
Update to Version 2.2:
The start icon has been increased to a higher resolution, which scales better on high-resolution screens.