Copa Libertadores de América



The Copa Libertadores de América, commonly referred to as the Libertadores de América or simply Copa Libertadores (Spanish: [ˈkopa liβertaˈðoɾes], Portuguese: [ˈkɔpɐ libeʁtaˈdoɾis]), is an annual international club football competition organized by CONMEBOL since 1960. It is the most prestigious club competition in South American football and one of the most watched events in the world, broadcast in 135 nations worldwide.[1] It is currently sponsored by Bridgestone and thus officially known as the Copa Bridgestone Libertadores. The tournament is named in honor of the Libertadores (Portuguese and Spanish for Liberators), the main leaders of the South American wars of independence, so a literal translation of its name into English would be the "Liberators of Americas Cup".

Users review

from 1 reviews