Wonders of the World



The historian Herodotus (484 – ca. 425 BCE), and the scholar Callimachus of Cyrene (ca. 305 – 240 BCE) at the Museum of Alexandria, made early lists of seven wonders but their writings have not survived, except as references. The seven wonders included:

Great Pyramid of Giza

Hanging Gardens of Babylon

Statue of Zeus at Olympia

Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus

Colossus of Rhodes

Lighthouse of Alexandria

In the 19th and early 20th centuries, some writers wrote about lists with names such as Wonders of the Middle Ages, Seven Wonders of the Middle Ages, Seven Wonders of the Medieval Mind, and Architectural Wonders of the Middle Ages.

Typically representative are:



Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa

Great Wall of China

Porcelain Tower of Nanjing

Hagia Sophia

Leaning Tower of Pisa

Other sites sometimes included on such lists:

Taj Mahal

Cairo Citadel

Ely Cathedral

Cluny Abbey

New 7 Wonders of the World (2001-2007) was an initiative started in 2001 by the Swiss corporation New7Wonders Foundation to chooseWonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments.

Chichen Itza - Mexico

Christ the Redeemer - Brazil

Colosseum - Italy

Great Wall of China - China

Machu Picchu - Peru

Petra - Jordan

Taj Mahal - India

The Giza Pyramid of Egypt, the only remaining Wonder of the Ancient World, was granted an honorary site.

Seven Natural Wonders of the World

Grand Canyon

Great Barrier Reef

Harbor of Rio de Janeiro

Mount Everest


Parícutin volcano

Victoria Falls

Seven Wonders of the Underwater World


Belize Barrier Reef

Great Barrier Reef

Deep-Sea Vents

Galápagos Islands

Lake Baikal

Northern Red Sea

Tags: seven wonders of the world , wonders of the world 2012 , wonders of the world libro herodotus , 7 natural wonders of the world , aplicacion world of wonder , sea vents in the galapagos islands , seven natural wonders of the world magic puzzles , seven wonders

Users review

from 20 reviews