Adventures of Sherlock Holmes




    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of twelve stories by Arthur Conan Doyle, featuring his famous detective and illustrated by Sidney Paget.

    The 1939 film starring Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce was based on the stage play by William Gillette and was not a direct adaptation of the book.

    These are the first of the Sherlock Holmes short stories, originally published as single stories in the Strand Magazine from July 1891 to June 1892. The book was published in England on 14 October 1892 by George Newnes Ltd and in a US Edition on 15 October by Harper. The initial combined print run was 14,500 copies.

    The 12 stories in this collection are:

    A Scandal in Bohemia
    The Adventure of the Red-Headed League
    A Case of Identity
    The Boscombe Valley Mystery
    The Five Orange Pips
    The Man with the Twisted Lip
    The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
    The Adventure of the Speckled Band
    The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb
    The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
    The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
    The Adventure of the Copper Beeches