You may have heard the term “gluten free”, and you may even have a general idea as to what it means to eat a gluten free diet. Most people believe this type of diet is a curse for those who simply cannot tolerate the protein known as gluten, as they will never be able to eat any food that contains wheat, rye, barley, malts, or triticale. And since gluten is often used as an additive to thicken and flavor foods, referred to in this case as dextrin, most foods have to be completely off limits. Right? Wrong!
While it is true that a gluten free diet is the only medically accepted form of treatment for certain types of medical conditions such as wheat allergies, dermatitis herpetiformis, and celiac disease, and it does limit somewhat the food choices of people with these conditions, it does not mean that the diet has to be bland or boring.
In fact, a gluten free diet does not have to be difficult, and it can include a variety of foods that will keep dieters from feeling deprived. By taking the time to follow a few simple guidelines, you will find the process relatively simple.
The first thing you need to do is refocus your attention on what types of foods you can have, and focus less on what you cannot. Safe foods include unprocessed, uncoated, unmarinated meats and fish, potatoes, corn, nuts, beans, legumes, eggs, oils, coffee beans, unflavored teas, plain milk, fruit juices, and fresh fruits and vegetables. Plain herbs and spices, not spice mixes, are also quite safe and add a great deal of gluten free flavor to dishes.
While certain grains, such as those previously mentioned do need to be avoided, there are other types of grains that are gluten free and considered to be completely safe. These grains are: soy (not soy sauce as it contains wheat), rice, sorghum, montina, buckwheat, amaranth, corn, teff, and quinoa.
There are also a number of different types of flours that are gluten free available on the market today. These flours make delicious baked goods and other products, and are safe to use to coat food. Gluten free flours are made from the safe grains, as well as other gluten free foods such as potatoes, beans, tapioca, and nuts. Flours free of gluten can be readily found in a variety of health food stores as well as supermarkets today. Due to the fact that more and more people are choosing to take up a gluten free lifestyle, there are now also a variety of ready to use gluten free food products, such as tortillas, bagels, and pizzas, along with gluten free baking mixes such a for cookies, cakes, breads, and muffins.
Due to the ever growing popularity of being gluten free, there is also gluten free pasta, which is also easily found in most grocery stores and is made from corn, rice, buckwheat, and/or quinoa. There are also buckwheat noodles which are tasty and safe, making for easy food substitutions.
Here's just a taste of what you will discover inside Gluten Free Living Secrets:
What foods you should focus on when first switching to a gluten-free diet
The 9 grains that are safe and gluten-free
The truth about whether you can eat pasta on a gluten-free diet
What you should know to determine if you have Celiac Disease and that's not all...
Why you may want to consider eliminating gluten from your child's diet
The top 10 reasons to go gluten-free
How to transform your pantry to be gluten-free
A list of essential gluten-free shopping tips
How to keep your kids happy around their gluten-eating friends
Tips on staying gluten-free when eating out
Gluten Free Living Secrets is a complete resource that will tell you everything you need to know about the dangers of eating gluten and how to go about transitioning yourself and your family to a life free of this dangerous substance.