World Series Winners



The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball (MLB) and concludes the MLB postseason. First played in 1903,[1] the World Series championship is determined through a best-of-seven playoff and is a contest between the champions of baseball's National League (NL) and American League (AL). Often referred to as the "Fall Classic",the modern World Series has been played every year since 1903 except in 1904, when the NL champion New York Giants declined to play the AL champion Boston Americans, and 1994, when the series was canceled due to the MLB strike.

The best-of-seven style has been the format of all World Series except in 1903, 1919, 1920 and 1921, when the winner was determined through a best-of-nine playoff.[ The Series-winning team is awarded the Commissioner's Trophy.Players, coaches, and others associated with the team are generally given World Series rings to commemorate their victory; however, they have received other items such as pocket watches and medallions in the past. The winner of the World Series is traditionally invited to the White House to meet the President of the United States.

world series,2010 world series,world series winners,world series champions,2009 world series,world series schedule,world series score,2002 world series,world series live,world series history,world series champs