The Pickwick Papers Ch.Dickens




    The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club
    (The Pickwick Papers)
    by Charles Dickens

    Virtual Entertainment, 2013
    Series: World classic books

    Written for publication as a serial, The Pickwick Papers is a sequence of loosely-related adventures. The action is given as occurring 1827–8, though critics have noted some seeming anachronisms. The novel's main character, Samuel Pickwick, Esquire, is a kind and wealthy old gentleman, and the founder and perpetual president of the Pickwick Club. To extend his researches into the quaint and curious phenomena of life, he suggests that he and three other "Pickwickians" (Mr Nathaniel Winkle, Mr Augustus Snodgrass, and Mr Tracy Tupman) should make journeys to remote places from London and report on their findings to the other members of the club. Their travels throughout the English countryside by coach provide the chief theme of the novel. A distinctive and valuable feature of the work is the generally accurate descriptions of the old coaching inns of England.

    Cover book is a illustration by Robert Seymour.

    Look for other books on our site

    Users review

    from 19 reviews